Remission

When I left my doctor’s office a couple of weeks ago, I happened to  read the printout they gave me. It listed my current medical conditions. Next to Bipolar Illness, it said ‘Remission.’

I didn’t know I could be in remission. I didn’t realize I might not have to suffer with this illness every day.

It turns out, I haven’t had a mood swing since last July. If you go a certain amount of time without an episode one way or the other, you are considered to be in remission.

I still take my medication. They reduced it slightly, but I take it to continue to be in control of the illness.

In control…..being in control of the illness has led to being in control of a lot of things. Eating, drinking, medications, drugs….whatever it is, I’m not currently struggling with anything of note. That is to say anything that is unhealthy.

I don’t know if this is permanent, but I’m treating it as if it is not. I exercise, take vitamins, eat healthy, limit caffeine….anything that adds to my health. It is as if I don’t want to jinx it. Since I don’t understand it, I do what I can to prevent it.

I do have to say that I think this is the culmination of being around people who are loving and accepting of me, flaws and all. It is healing, and I’m thriving because of it. I know that it’s the kind of love I want to give others. I think I’ve had my fill of being judgmental. I hope that’s the case.

People sin. They commit grievous sins. Some of those sins are self-harm. Confrontation and ultimatums rarely work in my opinion. Not to say they don’t have their place. I think boundaries should be defined, but lovingly, not with condemnation. But that’s just me.

Remission

Leave a Reply

