Shopping Cart Selfishness

I’ve  been reading a great book by RC Sproul called ‘Truths We Confess.’ It’s a commentary on the Westminster  Confession of Faith.

In the section about the Triune God, it has a paragraph on wisdom that caught my attention.

‘Wisdom is not an abstract philosophical concept. It has to do with practical actions. It compels us to live righteously – to know and do the right thing. At times we lack this wisdom , but God, the source of supreme wisdom, promises to give it to us liberally. Who is this God whom we worship? We keep coking back to who He really is. If we considered only His wisdom, that would be enough to keep us worshipping Him forever.’

It got me thinking that if I was looking at a situation in which I  was tempted to sin, maybe I would think twice about it if I asked myself whether or not I was making a wise decision.

Fresh out of the grocery store this morning, I had a cart and my car was parked far from the place to put your grocery carts. I was tempted to just empty the cart and leave it where I was parked.

The thought popped in my head, that it wasn’t wise. It might be expedient, but it’s selfish, a bit lazy and quite entitled. It’s a small thing, but what if everybody did it. The store and the customers all depend on everybody doing their part.

Maybe I’m sharing this example because the bigger ones are so much more foolish. But I do like approaching things this way. It might help me to be less selfish. It might bring more blessings.

Shopping Cart Selfishness

Leave a Reply

