Asking God for a Word

It’s one of those things we humans do in our relationship with the Lord. We ask him for a sign. We ask him for a word. When he doesn’t answer in the way we want Him to, we become discouraged and doubtful.

In Ezekiel it speaks to this rather clearly:

Chapter 20

The Rebellion of Israel
On August 14,* during the seventh year of King Jehoiachin’s captivity, some of the leaders of Israel came to request a message from the LORD. They sat down in front of me to wait for his reply. 2 Then this message came to me from the LORD: 3 “Son of man, tell the leaders of Israel, ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: How dare you come to ask me for a message? As surely as I live, says the Sovereign LORD, I will tell you nothing!’

The point is that we don’t have the right to ask God for a sign or a message. I don’t know why we think we have the right. And if he gave us a message, we either wouldn’t be happy with it, or would discount it. Because we truly don’t want to know the future. Not knowing the future is a way God protects us.

I don’t believe God has a single path for us. I think his will is obedience, and he works within whatever choices we make to get us closer to him.

I am divorced. I hate that term. I hate that state of being. Still,,2 1/2 years after my separation, I can see God’s answered prayerss and blessings. I don’t think it was God’s will, but I think he used it to bring me into a more intimate relationship with him.

I’m not seeking a sign. I’m simply trying every day to be obedient to Jesus.
Tyndale House Publishers. (2013). Holy Bible: New Living Translation (Eze 20). Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House Publishers.

Asking God for a Word

Leave a Reply

