God the Rescuer

This past week I’ve thought a lot about the things I’ve experienced. The despondency as well as the joy. God hates divorce:  Malachi 2:16 is the oft-quoted passage that tells how God feels about divorce. “‘I hate divorce,’ says the Lord God of Israel. But that doesn’t mean he can’t redeem divorce.

I was in a situation that was irreparably broken. Some of which was my fault. Some was not. I thought I would be alone forever because of God feels about divorce. As usual, God had surprises in store for me.

I met someone who was different. He loves me as I am. He thinks I’m pretty and smart. He doesn’t care what I weigh. He sat with me in the hospital last week and didn’t flinch at my messy hair and unmade face.

I’m not saying there won’t be issues and problems. I think God uses our mates as sandpaper in our lives in order to polish us to perfection. The difference is that God is a gentle God, and that sandpaper doesn’t have to cause raw pain. I’m open to change, and God is renovating my heart. For that I feel blessed.

This might not lead to permanency, and I have to be ok with it, although I do hate endings and I’m hoping against hope that it doesn’t.

My main point here is that my redemption for this season has arrived, and I’m basking in the balm of compliments that I believe are heartfelt. Things could be better than they ever would have been.

I’m not one who believes God wants me to be happy. I believe He loves me and wants the best for me, and sometimes that’s uncomfortable.

I’ve written before to marry or not, and I paid a lot of attention to my fulfilled, unmarried friends. I want to carry out God’s mission for me. I think every day I get closer.

God the Rescuer

Leave a Reply

