Asking for Help

“I was ready to respond, but no one asked for help.
I was ready to be found, but no one was looking for me.
I said, ‘Here I am, here I am!’
to a nation that did not call on my name.*
2 All day long I opened my arms to a rebellious people.*
But they follow their own evil paths
and their own crooked schemes.

God  wants to help us, but if we don’t ask, he can’t. In this verse from Isaiah 65, he is longing and even begging for us to turn to him. We love our own messes and sin, and we suffer needlessly, all the while he’s waiting with open arms.

It reminds me of when I was a child and did something wrong. I didn’t want to go to my parents because I was afraid of their responses. Truth be told, and I can say this as a mom now, how compassionate I would be with a contrite child. And it’s brave to confess wrongdoing or need!

I suppose we are scared of repercussions and consequences, but those are magnified when we don’t take them to the Lord. They fester. We are unable to fix these things ourselves.

13 As a father shows compassion to his children,
so the LORD shows compassion to those who fear him.

We have to work out our salvation with fear and trembling. That doesn’t mean the Lord causes the fear and trembling. He wants to forgive and lavish his love on us. Just take it to him. He’s the only one who can apply a balm to our trouble souls.
The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ps 103:13). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.
Tyndale House Publishers. (2013). Holy Bible: New Living Translation (Is 65:1–2). Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House Publishers.

Asking for Help

Leave a Reply

