Honors

I’ve thought a lot recently about the honors we assign to one another and what they mean.

I’ve said before that I’m a 3/4 person. Meaning, I do everything about 3/4 of the way. I will say that I’ve improved in that regard, and what I find is that I do 100% of the things I want to, that I find motivation from or that I have a clear goal.

The 3/4 things have to do with what I think matters. I don’t think it matters if I make up my bed. I think it would be better if I did. I think it would be a healthy thing to do. So, I make attempts at it, but I do not consistently do it.

People who are 100% people do not understand 3/4 people. My parents make their bed every day, and always have. It is important to them. It is the right thing to do.

At the recent graduation ceremonies, there are students who graduate ‘with honors.’ They are set apart, and given special recognition. And they deserve it!

I did not graduate with honors, and I didn’t think of trying. I didn’t assign the value to my education that I would today. I 3/4 it all the way through.

That’s ok though. When we go to heaven, we all receive rewards based on what we have done here. I think I might qualify for something, but I’m not sure what. I have found; however, that there are so many great people of faith in the world and in history, it will be a pleasure and honor to see the honors bestowed upon them.

A long time ago I was talking to my mom about this, and she said ‘I just want to be there.’ I love that. I do just want to be there. I’m not proud of the things I have done, but if I think if I had a big ministry, I would have a hard time keeping my pride in check.

I just want to enjoy watching everybody else get their rewards. I can do that without envy, I think. Just being happy for others is a reward in itself.

Honors

Leave a Reply

