Regrets

I was watching  film in which one of the characters said ‘I would rather do something I regret than not do anything.’

I disagree. I have been twenty-something and have said something similar to that. I did the things I knew I shouldn’t but didn’t want to have regrets.

It cost me dearly.

The truth is that there are things to do in life that you will regret if you don’t try. Being adventurous is part of life and it’s fun. But biblically, there are things we are warned against, and those things cost us dearly.

Just ask Adam and Eve. God provided them a lifetime of adventures and only one thing to not do, and they did it and although it doesn’t say, I’m quite sure they suffered deep regret.

I lived out the consequences of my choices for a long time. To some extent I still do, but fortunately God offers grace that doesn’t end. That’s the redemption story in action, and it’s a wonderful thing to experience grace. But as Paul said in Romans 6:1:

6 What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? 2 By no means!

The grace I have is sufficient and wonderful. It’s a true gift. But continuing in sin just results in more regret.

God has granted me a second chance at life, and it’s more than I would have given myself. I am thankful for it, and I am glad I’m free from past regret. It has taken me 48 years to learn the lessons some never have to. But that’s part of my story, and I know it’s a good story.

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ro 6:1–2). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

Regrets

Leave a Reply

