Gifts

I couldn’t stay sober on my own. I, like all alcoholics, tried very hard. I went to meetings and called my sponsor. I prayed. I read books.

It was the prayer that was key to my sobriety, but not because I prayed, but because I was obedient to pray. When I did achieve sobriety, I realized that I hadn’t done it myself, God had done it for me. I could never stop by myself, in my own strength. I wanted to do it

I was reading about David wanting to build God’s temple for Him. God said that he had never had a temple, and he would not require David to build it. He then said:

“ ‘Furthermore, I declare that the LORD will build a house for you—a dynasty of kings!

So, David wasn’t required to build a temple for Him. Additionally, God announced he would bless David with his own house. Not just a house, but a dynasty!

That’s the way God works. David offered Him something. Like I tried to offer God my sobriety. Not only did he not require anything of me, he gave me my heart’s desire. One of the biggest gifts He could have given me. Then he gave me his Son. The gift of everlasting life with Him! You can’t leave out the part ‘with Him.’ Without Him, it wouldn’t be much of an everlasting life.

That’s grace in action. Lately I’ve realized that the story of redemption carries a powerful message of grace. I’m living a free life today, and every day is amazing. Even the not so great ones.

Tyndale House Publishers. (2013). Holy Bible: New Living Translation (1 Ch 17:10). Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House Publishers.

Gifts

Leave a Reply

