Hiding the Spoils

I hear God sometimes when I’m reading the Word. I know it’s Him because he’s smarter than me! But seriously, there are times when God helps me to make a connection between his principles and my life.

Today it was about Achan. Do you know who he is? I’m sure if you read about him you will recall.

In Joshua 7, Israel went to war against the country of Ai. God was clear with them to not take plunder. Sometimes God allowed it and sometimes he didn’t.

I suppose Achan didn’t think it mattered. So he found something he couldn’t resist and he took it. God was furious and punished the Israelites, who set upon finding the guilty party.

Here is the part that stuck out today:

20 Achan replied, “It is true! I have sinned against the LORD, the God of Israel. 21 Among the plunder I saw a beautiful robe from Babylon,* 200 silver coins,* and a bar of gold weighing more than a pound.* I wanted them so much that I took them. They are hidden in the ground beneath my tent, with the silver buried deeper than the rest.”

Notice that they are hidden in the ground UNDER all of his other treasures. He couldn’t use them. He couldn’t admire them. He couldn’t even see them. They were buried in the DIRT. He could only possess them.

I thought to myself how foolish that is, and then I realized how I do it too. I know most people don’t do this, but I have definitely had a problem with coveting things, buying them when I couldn’t afford them, and then trying to hide them. God is working with me, and I suppose being in a place where it’s not possible as much, is  part of the lesson.

Just last night I came in wearing a pair of shoes I purchased 2 years ago and my mom asked if they were new, and I could happily say they were not. I think most people would be happy to share when they have something new, but I had too many inappropriate new things. So I’m glad to share my ‘old’ stuff.

Perhaps they even believe me.

Tyndale House Publishers. (2013). Holy Bible: New Living Translation (Jos 7:20–21). Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House Publishers.

Hiding the Spoils

Leave a Reply

