How to Grow

I had a really cool realization the other day. I was reading in Corinthians about prophecy.

14 Pursue love, and desire spiritual gifts, but especially that you may prophesy. 2 For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God, for no one understands him; however, in the spirit he speaks mysteries. 3 But he who prophesies speaks edification and exhortation and comfort to men.

I read it with fresh eyes, and I thought to myself, my gosh I don’t think I have ever believed prophesy is possible. While I’ve witnessed it in church, I haven’t  really thought it was true prophecy. Not in the part of my brain where things make sense.

So, I was kind of praying about it and here is what I felt God said to me.

Two years ago when I read passages, I questioned interpretation. I then read different interpretations and I thought ‘who is this guy who presumes to tell me what it means.’ But then I thought about my kids and how I never said to them ‘Well, I believe in God.’ I said to them ‘There is a God and He loves you.’

If I am talking to an unbeliever, I would say ‘this is what I believe.’  But I might even say ‘this is what I know to be true.’

It become possible for an author to know something about God that is true, that is new to me. I can listen, pray, and accept and believe what a teacher might say.

I can form my own interpretations through familiarity with the word. I can say with assurance what it is I believe and why. It is something that has grown out of my relationship to God and I’m very comfortable and secure in asserting my beliefs.

So, what I think God showed me is that prophesy is a gift that also grows out of our pursuit with God. I don’t know how it works, but the gifts I have now have grown from my walk with Christ. Prophesying will also grow out of our pursuit. We are told it’s something worth pursuing. This doesn’t mean something mystical is going to happen. It’s just being dogged after Christ and his gifts.

And when it does, and it seems like that, the result of working out your faith, it doesn’t make you more important, but I suspect you would already know that.

The New King James Version. (1982). (1 Co 14:1–3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson.

How to Grow

Leave a Reply

