Grace

I’m reading Lee Strobel’s new book on Grace. I give a reveal from one of the chapters, so if you don’t want to know what it says, don’t read this post.

I was a bit put off when I started it because it is tales of people who were examples of God’s grace. I don’t know why it bothered me, but having read a few stories, I am blown away.

Lee Strobel is a Christian author whose niche is in investigating the claims of Christianity as a newspaper reporter would. I always liked that idea! He’s conversational in style, and it’s very readable. I’ve read several of his books

I was at the hairdresser, my head under one of those blowers, and I was reading this story and crying. I don’t cry at books very often, and I NEVER want to cry in front of the hairdresser, but it got to me.

Anyway this book is called ‘The Case for Grace.‘ Chapter 2 is the story of a Korean girl who was given up by her mother, lost, hungry, sick, wandering, abused, hurt. Just all kinds of suffering. But then she was adopted by some people. Only she thought she was taken as a servant. The big moment, the ‘big reveal’ was when she realized she wasn’t a servant, she was a daughter!

Guess what? I am a daughter! I have been rejected, abused and lost, and I think I now think I’m a servant for all the wondering I do about what God wants me to do. But I’m a daughter! Just like I am.

So, I’ve been a Christian a long time and I know that. If you ask me I know it. But I doubt, and I have to have that moment again where I commit to the truth and say ‘I am Your Daughter.’

Makes me cry all over again 🙂

Grace

Leave a Reply

