In Plain Sight

I’ve copped to missing the forest for the trees, and I’m reminded all the time that I miss things, and those things are there to understand when I am ready.

I’ll give a couple of examples:

Today I was reading Exodus, the actual exodus, and I opened my eyes up and discovered that the Israelites crossed the river during the night. I always assumed it was daylight. It doesn’t necessarily mean anything, but how many times does a person have to read it? How many times did I gloss over the whole text and not pay attention?

The other is the movie ‘Exam.’ It’s a mind twisting movie from Britain. In it, 8 candidates are in a room to take an exam that will lead to a job in a very large mysterious organization. The test is simple: there is one questions before you, and one answer. The candidates have 80 minutes to find the question with some rules in place for disqualification purposes. The paper that is in front of them is blank.

The answer is deceptively simple, and when I saw it, I had a real gotcha moment. I’m sure there are some people who would get it right away. Congratulations to them.

It’s about paying attention and noticing. I suppose that, like anything else, requires practice.

In Plain Sight

Leave a Reply

