Overarching Themes

Usually I am the type of person to see the trees and not the forest. I depend on others to help me connect the celestial  dots. I recently came across something in which the trees are the point.

I’m talking about the book Revelation. I suppose there are people who have a great deal of insight into the book, but I dread it because I couldn’t make sense of it. Commentaries haven’t helped.

Oh, and I haven’t ever gotten to Revelation in my daily readings. The end of the year I am usually behind by quite a lot.

So, today I was reading chapter 16. Particularly the following passage:

10 The fifth t poured out his bowl on the throne of the beast, u and his kingdom was plunged into darkness. v People w gnawed their tongues because of their pain 11 and blasphemed the God of heaven x because of their pains and their sores, yet they did not repent of their actions.

There is this type of phrasing for seven angels. (7 being the symbol for perfection.)

Ok, so what I see here are sinful people like you and me who are put into painful situations in their lives. They can’t stand the pain so they curse God. God can take away pain. He doesn’t however. He is looking for a heart change.

I look for the Lord to stop my pain, but I don’t want to change. It is hard to want a change. You can know you need to, but in your heart you don’t want to.

The good news is that God can change your heart. Rely on God, don’t curse Him.

The Holy Bible: Holman Christian standard version. (2009). (Re 16:10–11). Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers.

Overarching Themes

Leave a Reply

