Culture Shock

I know I’m both old and old fashioned. At least to the kids.

In reality, I’m a little more to the left of my peers. I could shore up my morals a bit. I’ve become more forgiving than I was in my 20s.

The thing is, I started thinking about Muslims and their relationship with the U.S. or Western culture. We do a lot of pretty hideous things.

Dress, music, sex, drink, drugs, gluttony, sexual identity, books, movies, television, bars, actors and actresses, morally bankrupt business entities.

We have no honor, we look out for number one.

I sigh because this whole thing is too cumbersome to try to tackle. I think it’s safe to say culturally Christians do not appear to be very different from non-Christians.

In Islam, we think of people being kind of fierce, angry, dangerous, intolerant, oppressive….and so on.

If I were a Muslim, I would condemn the U.S. I would view us as the enemy. I would see us as a great evil. I would be afraid of Western ideas contaminating and corrupting my children.

But I don’t. Because I’m here. I’m not Muslim. I’m a Christian. Why is that ok?

Culture Shock

Leave a Reply

