Energy

I mentioned the AA promises in a previous post. I have been experiencing one of the promises in a different way and want to share what it is.

For a long time, I have noticed that I share more information than I ask. I am self-centered to be sure. I think everybody wants to know what’s going on with me all the time. That is why I have this blog you see. So everybody can see what is going on with me all the time.

Social media kind of feeds this self-centeredness. You can follow a whole person’s life online if you want to. We share things online that we couldn’t say face to face. We video tape and take photos of ourselves in ways we don’t want anybody to see, and then cry foul when it is displayed for the world to see.

The AA promise I’m seeing come true is: We will lose interest in selfish things and gain interest in our fellows.

I’m finding myself increasingly interested in what my friends and family are doing and going through. I want to know what their children are doing. I want to hear about their dogs and cats.

I find myself talking about my life dispassionately. No motive, no agenda. I don’t want them to feel sorry for me or console me or give me attention. What has happened, has happened. I don’t think I feel so sorry for myself now. I’m in a good place. I am glad for things being the way they are.

Feeling the way I do means I don’t have to use a lot of words to describe things to people. I don’t need a thousand examples because I’m not trying to prove anything.

I’m interested in how other people live. How they cope. How they have designed their lives. What they are interested in and why.

People have a lot to offer if you give them a chance.

Energy

Leave a Reply

