Honoring others

Maybe it’s me, but when I look over my life, I find that I somehow haven’t paid enough attention to the details.

When I was old enough to wrap presents, my mom taught me how. It isn’t difficult, right?

Apparently it is. I don’t think I cared enough. I just wrapped things as fast as I could. I would measure wrong and cut a piece to ‘patch’ it up. The goal was to cover it as fast as I could.

When I got married, I received the most beautiful packages at my wedding shower that were adorned with ribbons. We took the ribbons from the packages and put them on a paper plate as a ‘faux’ bouquet to carry during my wedding rehearsal. The bows were lovely. It wasn’t the cost so much as the fact that these women really honored me by making a small effort to make their gift special.

As far as my own wrapping strategy went, ribbons went by the wayside pretty darned quickly. They get smushed. Waste of time and money.

I am a big proponent of the gift bag. Just throw it in there. But I don’t want to do the whole tissue paper thing. Since I must, I buy white paper in bulk.

I get the impression that using gift bags is ok, but they should be used sparingly enough that others won’t notice how lazy you are. There must be a formula, but i am not sure what it is.

Years and years ago, I had a friend who had a new home and was showing me around when we came upon a room she set aside for wrapping gifts. A whole room for gifts! How msny gifts can a person give in order to qualify for a gift wrapping room? A bit extreme, I believe, especially when you compared it to the paper scraps tucked under my bed.

This is about noticing. Paying attention. This is all about honoring myself and the ones I love. Putting time, effort and
thought. I get it now, or at least I think I do…..can’t guarantee I won’t ‘patch’ my paper anymore, but I will be more thoughtful about it.

Honoring others

Leave a Reply

