Anger

Today’s post comes primarily from a broadcast ‘How To Deal with Anger,’ by RC  Sproul a Reformed Theologian who has written and taught on a wide range of subjects. His teaching are always extremely biblically based with a lot of meat, and very little fluff, but very easy to understand.

So, ok, you get it, I like the guy.

lightstock-82372-psalm-103--3

I have had a problem with anger for a long, long time. When I feel threatened or scared, I get angry. When I perceived I have been treated unfairly, I get angry. I’m seeing right now that I have been paralyzed by my anger, unwilling or unable to address the problem areas in my life because my anger tells me I have no problem.I’ll talk about my denial, another day.

One time, a long, long time ago, someone told someone I love that they had been praying for me and had the thought or feeling that I was an angry person. I filed it away and have taken it out occasionally to puzzle over it, but just not ready to see what exactly was going on.

My anger shielded me from the truth, but it also provided me protection.

In the July 1989 issue of ‘Tabletalk’ magazine, it says, ‘The first cause of anger is disappointment, the second is frustration, and the third is pain. (emphasis mine)

Some of what scripture says about anger is in Ephesians 4:26-27 ‘In your anger do not sin; Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.

So,how does it work to handle anger properly.

1) recognize the anger

2) identify the cause of the anger

3) do now allow yourself to respond in a sinful manner.

4) pray for patience and the wisdom of God

I think that sums it up rather nicely.

.

Image

Leave a Reply

