Integrity

My topics are extemporaneous, so they might appear capricious, but they are really just a reflection of what’s going on in my mind. A little bit ago, I read something by Travis Stork called ‘Don’t Be That Girl.‘ I’m not speaking about the real topic of that book which appears to be ‘how to change yourself so you don’t scare off guys.’ Rather, he said something in the book that caught my eye. ‘It’s okay if a woman wants to get married. That’s not the problem but…
“Can you get to know me without an agenda?”’

It seems to me that I don’t do anything without an agenda. I get up on the morning and get out of bed. I have assumptions about what’s going to happen next. I think about my day. That’s an agenda. I meet a friend for coffee. I have an agenda. I have an idea of what is going to occur during that meeting.

So, I guess what I’m saying is that I would like to approach life without bias, but I don’t think that’s the point.

So, choosing a topic reflects a personal agenda whether I like it or not.

That’s a long way to say I’m sorry if my postings seem self serving, but I suppose they are.

Well, so, Integrity. I have thought about it such a long time. There are a couple of illustrations that have stuck in my mind.

The first is a situation that occurred a long time ago. I had a friend who borrowed something fro another friend. It was broken went they went to use it. They started to say that they wouldn’t replace it because they received it broken. I felt that is wasn’t identified as broken when it was loaned. So, for me, I thought it should be replaced.

I had a sponsor a long time ago who would ask me how many meetings I was going to that week. When I didn’t go to that many, she pointed out that, that was a form of dishonesty. Do what you say you are going to do.

Finally, the best example comes from the book ‘Misreading Scripture With Western Eyes,‘ by E. Randolph Richards. In it, he describes a situation when he was teaching students in India. He gave them a multiple choice test. As they handed it in, he noticed they left answers blank. He asked them why they didn’t fill them in and they said they didn’t know the answer. He asked them why they didn’t guess. They said that they didn’t know the answer and should they guess and get it right, people would think they did know the answer.

n AA, we read what’s called ‘How it Works‘ In it, is the paragraph ‘Rarely have we seen a person fail who has thoroughly followed our directions. Those who do not recover are people who cannot or will not completely give themselves to this simple program, usually men and women who are constitutionally incapable of being honest with themselves. There are such unfortunates. They are not at fault; they seem to have been born that way. They are naturally incapable of grasping and developing a way of life which demands rigorous honesty. Their chances are less than average. There are those, too, who suffer from grave emotional and mental disorders, but many of them do recover if they have the capacity to be honest.'

My prayer today is to have great integrity.

Integrity

Leave a Reply

