Pray for the Desire

On the face of it, I would say in all honesty that I would like to reach out to any person who needs the Lord. And that, in all honesty, would not  be the truth. People who are different, who are challenged in different ways make me uncomfortable. I don’t know how to approach them.

Ministering to people requires humility and empathy. On the face of it, I am a very selfish person to think of myself and how I appear to the point of actually not going to church. People are not obligated to reach out to me. Working through that is my job.  I don’t know what God is calling you to do. My calling right at this moment is to try to share some simple,practical ways to relate to people who desperately need help.

It has been my experience that needy people repel others. Needing help is not popular. I spent decades trying to not need others. It made me more and more isolated. I think I drowned people with neediness. I know I did my husband. People  people don’t want difficult relationships. It might; however be what God is calling you to. Maybe one relationship. Start small. Adopt a person.

Pray for the desire. It is hard to want to change. Pray for the desire to change.

 

Pray for the Desire

Leave a Reply

